this one takes the cake for Worst Praise and Worship Song Ever

I really was going to do dishes, but then the song “Our God Reigns,” by a Brandon Heath, came on Pandora.

The first line literally made me pause.

“So much holy?”

Yee-ah.

So without ado, I give you what I don’t doubt is destined to become the latest greatest thing to hit FOPs since, oh I don’t know…”The ocean/is growing/the tide is coming in/here it is/here is our King…”

So much holy, so divine
Yours and so much mine
By the morning, light is Thine
Perfect by design

Mighty to man, light of the earth earth
He’s sending His Son to echo His worth
Breaker of sin, winner of souls
Every creature will know

Our God reigns over the heavens
Over the earth, Our God reigns
Praise His name, All still standing
All that was, all that remains
Our God reigns

Deepest Ocean opened wide
So shall love divide
In devotion to His bride
Standing by her side

Mighty to man, Binding to earth
He’s sending His Son to echo His worth
Breaker of sin, winner of souls
Every creature will know

Our God reigns over the heavens
Over the earth, Our God reigns
Praise His name, All still standing
All that was, all that remains
Our God reigns

So much Holy, So divine
Yours and so much mine

And now with my comments:

So much holy, so divine I am no grammar fiend, a la Michael or Claire. But this is just ridiculous. And to make sure I wasn’t making things up, I decided to check what, exactly, is the proper grammatical usage of “much.” Voila: http://www.edufind.com/english/grammar/Determiners7a.cfm. It’s a quantifer — an adjective. Thank you fourth grade grammar for teaching me that that means it describes a noun — which “holy” definitely is not. So basically, within the first three words, this song falls into the “My Glorious” trap. What’s weird, though, is that it drops the “much” in the very next phrase, which mentions another adjective, “divine.” So why the “much” in the first place? Probably because Brandon Heath thought it sounded good there 😮
Yours and so much mine I have no idea.
By the morning, light is Thine Is he just putting words together that rhymes with “divine”?
Perfect by design Yes he is.

Mighty to man, light of the earth Mighty to man?
He’s sending His Son to echo His worth interesting Christology. How do you make an emoticon raise a skeptical eyebrow?
Breaker of sin, winner of souls Ok.
Every creature will know dundundun…the chorus!

Our God reigns over the heavens
Over the earth, Our God reigns Way to finish the line by repeating yourself
Praise His name, All still standing Were we sitting earlier?
All that was, all that remains HUH?
Our God reigns WHAT ON EARTH DOES “ALL THAT WAS, ALL THAT REMAINS” HAVE TO DO WITH THIS?

Deepest Ocean opened wide No. He did not just try the awful “the ocean, it’s growing, the tide is coming, here it is!” metaphor for God.
So shall love divide <skeptical emoticon>
In devotion to His bride What the…
Standing by her side Is Christ the Ocean?

Mighty to man, light of the earth
He’s sending His Son to echo His worth Didn’t we decide it was heretical to call Christ an emanation of the Father? Just saying. Not sure if “echo” = emanation, but I’m pretty sure one-in-being-with-the-Father this is not. However, I’ll give Brandon the benefit of the doubt; after all, it’s an echo of His “worth,” not necessairily Himself, whatever that’s supposed to mean.*
Breaker of sin, winner of souls I admit, I kind of like that pair of images. Like, on a scale of 1-10, a 2.
Every creature will know

Our God reigns over the heavens
Over the earth, Our God reigns
Praise His name, All still standing
All that was, all that remains
Our God reigns

So much Holy, So divine
Yours and so much mine This is so painful.

What, Mr. Heath? What on earth is “yours and so much mine”? Jesus? The ocean? God’s reign? Who are you talking to? Me? Why is it “SO much” yours? Do you know what you’re singing about?

Look, I like praise and worship. I don’t think they all need to be densely packed with theological doctrine. One of my favorite praise songs, ever, is beautiful in its simplicity: I love You, Lord/And I lift my voice/To worship You/Oh my soul rejoice … But mashing together words that rhyme with “divine” and singing awful metaphors that cannot even pretend to relate to each other or God is not quite via media, either.

End rant, on to the dishes.

*Midway through the dishes (just before I broke the French press, actually…this is very sad news…), I thought about whether Christ would be an “echo” of God, or His worth, or whatever, in Eastern Orthodox/Catholic theology. I’m thinking no, but go ahead, Eastern Catholics (ahem, Greg, that would be you), tell me if Brandon Heath is here unveiling the mysteries of the filioque.

Anyway. If you want to hear the actual song on YouTube (complete with butterflies, kids leaping for joy and, I kid not, giraffes), here you go.

3 thoughts on “this one takes the cake for Worst Praise and Worship Song Ever

  1. There’s nothing in the lyrics about the ocean…at least not on the Cd. Verse 2 starts with “In devotion to His bride, standing by her side.” Plus the video you’ve put here from Youtube isn’t Brandon Heath’s..it’s some awful, cheesy collage put to a song.
    I don’t really get the song either, for what it’s worth. Nice idea, horribly written lyrics.

Leave a Reply

